Is Domino's Gluten-free Pizza Safe?
If you have celiac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis (a rash-like skin condition), wheat allergies, gluten sensitivity, or gluten ataxia, this product is not recommended for consumption .
On Monday, May 7, 2012, Domino's Pizza launched its "gluten-free" pizza that they claim is safe for those with "mild gluten sensitivities". This concerns us at the Tender Palate since cross contamination is dangerous for people with a variety of gluten-related conditions, including gluten sensititivy. There are no laws, yet, concerning a vendors' right and ability to label a product as "gluten-free", although certain standards are being reviewed, these standards are followed and exceeded by certain vendors already, and a law is expected. Given the statement from Domino's Pizza, and the statements from the patient advocacy group (The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness or NFCA) they had consulted with, the risk of cross contamination is very high. Cross contamination is dangerous for people with Celiac Disease and other gluten reactions. The Tender Palate also does not support the "Amber Rating" system developed by the NFCA and feels it to be mis-leading and potentially dangerous. Either a product meets proper gluten-free standards, or it does not. Domino's Pizza does not.
Please read the statement below from the Center for Celiac Research at the University of Maryland. They are the leading research and medical facility dedicated to all gluten-related diseases.