Support the Work

If you have found the information on this blog useful, enjoyable, candid, or inspirational ... help keep it reader supported, journalistically driven, available to all, and advertiser-free. If you are able and inspired to do so, please consider a subscription to this blog. You can drop a dime or two every month, every year, or whenever you feel moved.

It will keep me writing, gathering facts, and interviewing the experts.




Parent / Sponsor



Join The Email List

Get Tastiness to Your Inbox

* indicates required

A blog about all things allergen-free and delicious

Entries in chocolate (8)


Best Allergen-Free Chocolate 2013

Since I am a chocolaholic, I will always be on the lookout for the best chocolate for baking, cooking, eating and giving.  Here is a start to my list.  I'll keep adding to it and letting you know what else I find out, and publish a new one every year! So let me know your favorites and why.


Cooking, Baking & Confections

Barry Callebaut - North America - DARK CHOCOLATE

Barry Callebaut dark chocolate is used by confection makers, restaurants and bakers world-wide because it is a fantastic chocolateThe North American factory is a dedicated dairy-free facility, and they test for dairy.  The North American factory also does not produce any gluten or nut products, however, they do not test or monitor sourcing. I use this chocolate for many recipes. 

  • Dairy Free (processed on a dedicated dairy-free, dark chocolate North American factory line & tested for milk.)
  • Kosher Certified
  • Vegan (no animal products are processed on their dark chocolate line)
  • Soy: Contains small amounts of soy (soy lecithin is used for consistency)
  • **Gluten: currently, gluten products are not processed in the North American Factory, however, there is no testing for this at the moment. 
  • **Nuts: currently, nuts are not processed in the North American Factory, however, there is no testing for this at the moment.  Some European factories do process nuts, so please do your own research.
  • Organic Status: not certified organic
  • GMO Status?  Currently Unknown.

    **It's always best to do your own research and match your personal allergens with those of the company.


Check out Tender Palate's gluten & dairy-free recipes for Almond Cognac Truffles (contains nuts) & for our Coconut Truffles  using Callebaut.



Navitas Naturals Raw Cacao Powder

UPDATE 5/13/16

PLEASE NOTE: Navitas started producing tapioca in their factories some time ago, so I am no longer able to use their products because I have an anaphylactic response to tapioca. however, I picked up a package this week to show a friend, and the allegen statement has changed. It states that it processes  in a factory that also produces wheat, dairy, peanuts and more. Please check with the company and the label to be sure that this product is safe for you to consume if you are sensitie or allergic to the top 8 allergnes.

"All of Navitas Naturals products are inherently gluten free and vegan. We do not source or process anything with gluten and therefore our entire production facility is gluten free. We do not have a gluten free certification at this point nor do we test for parts per million for each product, but are working toward doing so for the near future. Our foods are also all dairy free. Again we do not test for parts per million at this time, but no dairy is ever present in our facility."

~Arthur Mullin, Navitas Naturals, IN 2013

  • No Gluten: not sourced or processed with gluten, but not tested. In the process of getting gluten-free certification and performing a ppm test for gluten-free certification for raw cacao. Navitas Power Snack line is gluten-free certified.
  • No Dairy: no dairy is present in the facility, but not tested for dairy at this time.
  • Tree Nuts:  facility processes tree nuts, but handles cashews only.
  • Soy: We do not test for parts per million for soy or peanuts. Our superfoods come from around the world and are grown in natural, native habitats. The risk for cross contamination with gluten, soy, or other legumes is extremely low and/or unlikely.
  • Peanuts: We do not test for parts per million for soy or peanuts. Our superfoods come from around the world and are grown in natural, native habitats. The risk for cross contamination with gluten, soy, or other legumes is extremely low and/or unlikely.
  • Sulfite Free: None of Navitas Naturals products contain sulfites
  • Organic: All products are certified organic and use minimal processing methods such as freeze-drying. The facility is certified organic.
  • GMO StatusNavitas Naturals products are Non-GMO Project Verified! That means they’ve met the rigorous standards of the Non-GMO Project- an independent non-profit reviewer that ensures products are made according to best practices for GMO avoidance. Organic Facility. Under current FDA regulations, no GMOs are allowed in organic foods.
  • Certified Kosher: "Most of our products are certified kosher through Earth Kosher. You can find more information at"

Read the labels for your particular allergens at:

UPDATE 5/13/16

Navitas started producing tapioca in their factories some time ago, so I am no longer able to use their products because I have an anaphylactic response to tapioca. however, I picked up a package this week to show a friend, and the allegen statement has changed. It states that it processes  in a factory that also produces wheat, dairy, peanuts and more. Please check with the company and the label to be sure that this product is safe for you to consume if you are sensitie or allergic to the top 8 allergens.


Here's a recipe for a 14 allergen free (also not nuts/peanuts) Not Yo Mamma's Chocolate Mousse Tart & Chocolate Squash Muffins using Navitas Raw Cacao. Both are soy-free, egg-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, tapioca-free.

Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

& Bittersweet Chunks

This is a great little chunk. The chocolate is very good, high quality and can be used in most of your baking needs. I've even used it to make truffles, which surprised me that these chunks would work for confection. Enjoy LIfe chocolate products do contain tapioca.

  • Free of the 8 most common allergens (NO wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish, or shellfish. Also made without casein, potato, sesame or sulfites).
  • Nut-free (tested and produced in a dedicated nut-free and gluten-free facility)
  • Gluten-free  (tested and produced in a dedicated nut-free and gluten-free facility)
  • **Dairy-free (tested)
  • **Soy-free (tested)
  • **(produced in a facility that also processes dairy and soy, but produced on a dedicated dairy-and soy-free line.  Ingredients have been additionally tested for the presence of dairy and soy)
  • Contains Tapioca
  • GMO status?  Currently unknown.
  • Organic Status? Not organic

Read the labels for your particular allergens at:


Here's a recipe using these chunks/chips for Coconut Cream Muffins & Brownie Tart


Giving & Eating

Eating Evolved - The Primal Dark Chocolate Company

Eating Evolved Vanilla Latte TruffleI have not yet tasted these incredible looking treats myself, but am adding them to this list because I've read other reviews which loved them. It is also rare to find a chocolate product that has no dairy, soy, gluten, or tapioca in it.  I corresponded with Eating Evolved on Facebook to find out more specific information on how they handle common allergens.  Here is what they said:

Our chocolates are completely gluten, dairy, soy-free and is made in a facility that is free of those allergens. We do have three flavors of Primal Chocolate that contain nuts (banana walnut, coconut almond, and fig & almond) so our facility is not nut-free.

No Gluten: no gluten in the ingredietns and made in a gluten-free facility but is not yet tested for gluten. Gluten testing is in the company's future plans.

No Dairy: no dairy n the ingredients and made in a dairy-free facility but is not yet tested for dairy. Dairy testing is in the company's future plans.

No Soy: no soy in the ingredients and made in a soy-free facility but is not yet tested for soy. Soy testing is in the company's future plans.

No Tapioca: ingredients are tapioca free

Organic Status: All ingredients are organic except for the coffee beans used in the Maple Bacon Mocha Truffle and the Vanilla Latte Primal Chocolate. The estate that produces the coffee beans is Passive Organic and the family that owns it does not allow chemicals (herbicides, pesticides, etc.). Click here to find out more about the coffee beans they use.

All of our ingredients are organic except for the coffee beans used in the Maple Bacon Mocha Truffle and the Vanilla Latte Primal Chocolate. The estate that produces the coffee beans is Passive Organic and the family that owns it does not allow chemicals (herbicides, pesticides, etc.). Click here to find out more about the coffee beans we use. - See more at:

Tree Nuts: Certain products contain nuts

Peanuts: Though there are no peanuts in Eating Evolved products, nor are there any in their facility, Some of their ingredients that they get from other vendors are packaged in facilites that handle peanuts.



Righteously Raw

This is dark stuff, and I love, love, love it. If you haven't had raw chocolate that isn't too sweet, this might be a palate changer for you. The chocolate is developed to contain many phytonutrients from superfoods, including the raw cacao itself. I always feel like I feel better after I eat one of these bars. I don't think its my imagination! The acai and maca are my favorites. The caramel, which I also like, is an acquired taste (it doesn't taste like typical caramel), as is the rose. But I wouldn't kick them out of my shopping cart.

No Dairy: Certified Vegan, no dairy in the facility

No Gluten: Facility is free of gluten / wheat

No Soy: Facility is free from soy

No Peanuts: Facility is free from peanuts

No Nuts: Facility is free from nuts

PLEASE NOTE: I have a call in to discuss any testing that they do, and to see if any of their suppliers have allergens in their facilities. Stay tuned for more info on that.

Ceritifed Kosher

Certified Organic

GMO Status: part of the non-GMO project (love that)

Indie Candy 

Indie Candy makes allergen-free confections for Tender Foodies of all kinds.  Their truffles are very good, and they cater to several special diets. They offer selections that are:

  • Gluten-free
  • Dairy-free
  • Soy-free
  • Nut-free
  • Kosher
  • Vegan
  • Feingold Diet Approved
  • Contains Tapioca

Check out what The Tender Foodie has to say about Indie Candy in our Review.




A Day of Meals for Tender Foodies!

Soy-, Dairy-, Gluten-, Nut-, and Egg-free




In keeping with the meal planning tips from Chef Jenny Brewer, here is the article I wrote for Women's Lifestyle Magazine's March Foodie issue.  This day of meals is free of the top 8 allergens and then some.







Variety is a "Must Have"

Variety is the spice of life.  Did you know that variety is also necessary for a healthy body? As we eat, each nutrient performs a set of very specific, highly complex tasks that keep us walking, talking and vibrant. Our bodies use magnesium, for instance, in over 300 biochemical reactions (according to The National Institutes of Health*).  

When you have multiple food allergies, it isn’t so easy to find the food that you need to be fabulous. You have to reject some habits and learn to cook new and different foods. Recipes that require no adaptation are scarce. Wouldn’t it be nice to have an entire day’s worth of recipes that are free of the top 8 most common allergens?  I asked Jenny Brewer, nutritionist and chef, to lend a hand in this delicious one-day meal plan.  Each recipe, even the dessert, is packed with nutrients.  Give it a try!

Quinoa Power Breakfast

From Elisabeth Veltman

See original post on

Prep Time:  5 Min.
Cook Time:  15 Min.
Serves:  2-4

Soak 1 cup of quinoa in water for 5 minutes. Run through a very fine strainer until the water is clear. Place quinoa into a medium to large saucepan. Add to 2 1/4 cups of water and bring the entire mixture to boil. Then cover and simmer for about 15 minutes. White halos will appear around the grains when the quinoa is done. Keep a little liquid in the cereal to soak up the flax seed.

Add in 1/2 cup of ground flax seed.
Add 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon (add more, to taste)
Organic black raisins, organic dried cherries or cranberries
Continue cooking for 1 more minute until the flavors are mixed and the raisins warm.
Spoon into bowls with fresh strawberries, sliced (or your favorite fruit).
Top with 1 or 2 TBS of real maple syrup.  (Grade B or C.  No high fructose corn syrup should be anywhere on the label.)
Leftovers will keep 2-3 days. 

Black Bean & Sweet Potato Soup

From Chef Jenny Brewer

See original post on

Prep Time:  
20 Min.
Cook Time:  
35 Min.
Serves 6-8

1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 medium red onion, chopped
1 Anaheim pepper, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 sweet potatoes (1 1/2 lbs), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 28-can whole plum tomatoes
1-cup water or vegetable stock
2 15-ounce cans black beans, drained
1 dried chipotle pepper (smoked jalapeño), seeded and chopped (easiest to do with scissors)
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves

Warm the oil in a large pan over medium heat and add the onion, pepper, garlic, and sweet potato chunks. Sauté, stirring often, until onions are soft, about 5 minutes.
 Add the tomatoes, breaking them up with the back of a wooden spoon. Add water or stock, beans, chipotle, cumin, and chili powder, bring to boil, reduce heat to simmer, cover, and cook for 30 minutes, or until sweet potatoes are tender. Stir in cilantro and serve.

Lamb Chops

Adapted from

See original post on

Prep Time: 12 Min.
Cook Time: 16 Min.
Yield: Serves 2 to 4

4 loin lamb chops, about 1 1/2 inches thick
½ cup olive oil
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon dried rosemary
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper (optional)

Combine the vinegar, rosemary, garlic and salt in a large glass bowl (or an 8x8 shallow pan). Slowly drizzle and simultaneously which in the olive oil. Place chops in bowl and turn repeatedly to coat well. You could put all of the contents into a Ziploc bag, too. Cover and refrigerate for 4 to 12 hours. Once marinated, remove chops from fridge and bring to room temperature (15 minutes). Preheat grill or grill pan for medium-high heat. Remove chops from marinade and place on a lightly oiled grill rack. Cook for 8 minutes on each side. Remove from heat, and allow to rest for 3-5 minutes.  Serve.

Not Your Mama’s Chocolate Mousse Tart

From Chef Jenny Brewer

See the original post on


1 cup pumpkin seeds, toasted*
½ cup popped millet**
½ cup raisins
1/3 cup dates, pitted
2 Tablespoons ground flaxseed mixed with 4 Tablespoons water and left to gel for 3-5 minutes           
Pinch of salt
In a food processor bowl, pulse pumpkin seeds and millet until seeds are ground. Add raisins, dates and pinch of salt and chop until everything is ground together. Add in flax mixture and pulse until sticky. Wet your fingers and press the mixture into 8-inch pie pan and keep refrigerated while you prepare the filling.

Chocolate Mousse Filling

2 LARGE ripe Haas Avocados 
(if your avocados are small, add another avocado or more and adjust the ingredients, since avocados vary quite a bit in size.)
1/2 cup raw cacao powder or cocoa powder
3-4 TBS maple syrup (taste after 3 and add to taste)
1 TBS vanilla extract 
Puree all ingredients in a food processor until smooth.
Spread into crust and chill until ready to serve.

If you would like more naughtiness, double the filling for a more voluptuous tart.

*To toast pumpkin seeds, place them in a dry skillet over medium high heat, stirring until brown, about 5-7 minutes, being very careful not to burn.

**To pop millet, place in a dry, hot skillet over medium heat and stir constantly until you hear consistent popping.  Don’t burn.

Visit the recipes on for videos and more information.


About Elisabeth Veltman

Writer, owner of Blue Pearl Strategies, and lover of all culinary delights, Elisabeth is a Tender Foodie. She started The Tender Palate, a website for foodies with food allergies where she consults with experts from every area of the Tender Foodie life. She believes that everyone should live deliciously and have a healthy seat at the table. Find her at


Recipe: Brownie Tart (Dairy- & Gluten-Free)




My love for brownies led me to try every gluten- and dairy-free brownie mix on the shelves.  Not floored (although there are some great mixes out there now), I started making my own from scratch.  Then with alternative flour in my hair and coconut oil on my shirt, I looked for a brownie-like cake that I could take to parties and have people ask, "Who made this?"  To achieve this lofty goal, I thought it wise to start with a recipe from one of the brownie masters, The Barefoot Contessa.  I adapted her recipe so that I could safely and joyfully consume, but also have "normal" guests demand a repeat performance.  This recipe is rich (you don't need big pieces), chocolatey, chewey - all of the different textures that you want in a brownie. 

And this tart gets people to make naughty sounds. 

 Just out of the oven. It smells so, so good.


6 TBS of coconut oil

20 oz. (3.25 cups) of Enjoy Life Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (or bittersweet chunks if you are really in a decadent mood)

1 cup of sugar

3 large eggs

1/2 tsp. of gluten-free vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. of GF coffee extract (rounds out the flavor of the chocolate)

1/4 c. GF brown rice flour (I find white rice flour too sweet) - I use Bob's Red Mill

1/4 c. GF tapioca flour -- I use Bob's Red Mill

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. sea or kosher salt

2-3 TBS of rice, almond, coconut (or other alternative) milk


Put it Together

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

With coconut oil (or safflower, grape seed), grease a 9-inch tart pan with removable sides.  Then flour the pan with brown rice flour.

Wet Ingredients:  Melt the 6 TBS of coconut oil in a bowl over simmering water.  Make sure the water isn't touching the bottom of the bowl.  Add 2 cups of the chocolate chips to the bowl with the oil, then remove from heat until the chocolate melts.  If you need more heat, put the bowl of back on the simmering water for a few seconds.  (Chocolate burns easily, hence this method.)  Let chocolate cool completely.

In a bowl of an electric mixer (use the paddle attachment) beat the eggs, sugar, GF coffee extract and GF Vanilla on medium-high speed until light and fluffy - about 3 minutes. Stir in the cooled chocolate.

Dry Ingredients:  In a medium bowl, combine the tapioca and brown rice flours, baking powder, salt and 1 cup of chocolate chips.  Fold the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture until just combined.

Bake:  Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes until the center is puffy.  Don't overbake - if the center puffs up and possibly cracks, it is good to go.  The inside will still be very soft, but the outer rim will be perfectly chewy. 

Dress Up:  Melt the remaining chocolate chips with the 2-3 TBS of rice milk (or other alternative milk).  You can do this right in the double boiler you used for the first melted chocolate.  Drizzle over the top of the tart in whatever pattern floats your boat.

Cool to room temperature before removing the tart pan sides.

 The End.



On Cookies, Cravings & Mis(taken) Labelings.

The Cravings Made Me Do It

When I started this post, I was about to extol the taste and virtues of these Dark Chocolate, Chocolate Chunk Cookies.  I was about to say how delicious and satisfying they are (and they are); and how much I admire the company who made them for going the extra mile to include multiple allergies. But when I double-checked the ingredients to be sure I was writing about them accurately, I realized why I had such a rough couple of nights after eating them.  Until then, I simply could not pinpoint the reason for my body's allergic reaction.

Before I go on, let me add that If gluten is your only allergy and you love chocolate, these cookies from Pamela's Products are some of the yummier G-free cookies out there.  Go get 'em. 

But they are not yet "dairy-free", even though the label says, "Non-Dairy".  Since I have an allergy to all dairy products, even traces of dairy can cause a reaction.  I'm embarrassed to say that my craving for chocolate coupled with the sound of the word "cookie" just drove me to the shelf without doing my usual ingredient-reading homework.  This mistake plus an FDA approved, but outdated labeling technique, led me down a path that was painful, but interesting.  So, I'm going to use this experience to discuss a few very important things:

  • Non-Dairy & Vegan vs. Dairy-free labeling
  • Why it is important to call the manufacturer if you have a clear allergic reaction to their product
  • How a responsible company/manufacturer should and did respond
  • The possibility for allergen-free product companies and factories to expand their mutual markets if they cooperate on a larger scale. 


My Conversation with Pamela's Products

Usually, I am a fastidious ingredient checker -- even if I've used a particular product before.  You never know when the manufacturer of a product might change their recipe.  Sometimes, one producer of just one ingredient could add nuts, dairy or some other allergen to their facility.  But when I picked up this box,  I let the little snack devil in my head make my decisions for me because of this label:


I was sure it wasn't the cookies that made me miserable.  But an empty box (it had been a long time since I ate a cookie) and a couple of long days later, I turned said box over just to be sure.

On the back of the box it states in smaller letters:  "ALLERGEN INFORMATION:  CONTAINS EGGS, SOY, AND MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF MILK."

I picked up the phone immediately and called Pamela's customer service department.  I was upset.  The customer service rep had their marketing director, Stephanie call me back within minutes.  We had an intelligent discussion about several things.


The Real Meaning of "Non-Dairy" & "Vegan"

"Non-dairy" means that there are no dairy ingredients listed in the product.  But the FDA does not define the term "non-dairy", each state does.  This adds complicaton for the consumer.  Also, "Non-Dairy" doesn't take into account that the product, or any ingredient in the product, could be manufactured on the same equipment that also handles an allergen like dairy.  Incidentally, neither does the label, "Vegan".  Traces of milk or any of its derivatives (casein, whey or lactose) left on equipment from another product can be quite significant.  Significant enough to cause a serious reaction.

In researching this article, I found that I am not alone in my mis-interpretation of "non-dairy".  I am allergic to gluten and all forms of dairy - with a slow onset, or IgG reaction (i.e. not an IgE or anaphylaxis) that causes one or more of the following (for me): dull to sharp stabbing pain in my head, dizziness, stuffed nose, swelling (that's attractive), abdominal pain, a digestive standstill, flu-like symptoms, anxiety, numbness and sometimes a racing heart.  These symptoms take several days or more to clear.  I probably won't end up in the hospital because of a mistake, but some people will.    

In a open letter to the FDA encouraging them to change this labeling tactic, The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN) describes another twist to the non-dairy labeling:

Many of our members have told us they have purchased “non-dairy” products for their milk-allergic children because they believed these items to be safe.  Individuals often interpret “non-dairy” to mean “no dairy” and therefore do not feel it necessary to read the ingredient statement on the back of the package. In fact, doctors often advise parents of milk-allergic children to avoid “milk”, without informing the patient/parent of technical ingredient names such as casein.  However, FAAN has learned of situations in which “non-dairy” items (such as whipped toppings, imitation cheeses, and soft-serve frozen desserts) have caused milk-allergic reactions in children because it was later discovered that the item contained a milk-derived protein.


Pamela's Products Takes Quick Action

In short, according to labeling laws, Pamela's Products was not wrong for labeling this product, "Non-Dairy".  Plus, they specialize in gluten-free products, not products for multiple allergens.   My phone call was apparently a first for Pamela's, which surprised me and yet didn't surprise me.  I've learned that people are embarrassed.  They are used to just sucking it up and moving on because they feel they "have no choice".  Or perhaps others were just smarter than I was. 

However, Pamela's recognizes that with the increase in the numbers of people with food allergies, as well as the increase in people with multple allergies - they need to evolve more ahead of their customer base.  So they immediately went to work.  Stephanie asked for my email address so she could keep me apprised of her conversations with Pamela herself and their managment team. 

Here is what they have done so far:

  • They Stopped the Presses on cookie boxes for their new "Wherever Bars" as they were being printed.  This was at no small expense.  When you see this new product (launched this spring) in stores, you will notice an asterisk (*) next to "Non-Dairy".  This is a temporary change while they consider making more changes to the box design to accommodate better labeling. Rest assured, I'll be looking to see how the change turned out.

  • They are Considering Changing Chocolate Factories.  I put them in touch with Barry-Callebaut Chocolate, a fair trade, high quality company and the only dairy-free bittersweet chocolate factory line in North America.   Callebaut also does not produce nuts or gluten products in their factory, but right now, they only test for dairy.

I appreciate the concern and action from Pamela's Products and have great respect for their immediate response.  In fact, I called them on April 8, 2011 and received these results on April 12, 2011.  They very kindly made it clear that they want to hear from their customers (so give them feedback!), so they can "strive to be the best".


An Expanding Food Allergy Market

Perhaps it is the marketer in me, but I see a huge mult-beneficial opportunity here.  If Callebaut agrees to test also for gluten and nuts, both Pamela's and Callebaut could theoretically expand their markets - possibly significantly.  

Here's some quick data for the United States alone:

  • Over 12 million Americans have some kind of diagnosed food allergy - that's 1 in 25 people (FAAN)
  • Over 3 million (1 in 133) have celiac disease (
  • Millions more have diseases that require a restricted diet (some resources say 3 million, others closer to 11 million)
  • Peanut allergies have tripled from 1997-2008 (FAAN)
  • There are 4 times more people with celiac than there were 50 years ago (March 2011, University of Maryland study)
  • 18 million people suffer from gluten-sensitivity (March 2011, University of Maryland study)
  • Many people are developing multiple allergies (data not conclusive)

More data on this expanding market is coming out every day.  My hope is that more Tender Foodies with nut, dairy and gluten allergies (and more?) can experience the products of great companies like Pamela's and Barry-Callebaut.  If my greatest wish could become true, all ingredients would be organic and non-GMO.  Eutopia would be if we could find the cause of food allergies and make them disappear.

While there are some real limiations that need to be acknowledged, something close to Eutopia could be only a few decisions away. 

Enough of us just have to ask for it.  Tell me what you think.



Recommended Reading:  The Wall Street Journal Article on the Gluten Study

How do I get tested for Celiac? 



Food Allergies? Easter Bunnies That Kick the "Big 8" in the Tail.

Easter is April 24. 


In my search for candy makers with allergen-free Easter bunnies, gummies and jelly beans, I haven't found any that do it better than Indie Candy.  I gave their chocolate and yummy gummies a try before Valentine's Day, and I "heart" them (read the review).  Indie Candy balances their customers' food allergy needs with great candy making and taste.  And after speaking to the owner, I have a feeling that their passion and knowledge for allergen-free sweets will bring them to new taste heights as their company grows.

The chocolate is high qualit and free of all 8 big allergens (peanuts, treenuts, dairy, wheat/gluten, soy, seafood, shellfish, and eggs).  They even have treats that adhere to the Feingold diet - developed for those with ADHD.

Find them at


Our Tender Readers Recommend

We've started a list from our readers.  Keep them coming!!

Premium Chocolates

To get guaranteed delivery by Easter, orders needed to be in by April 7.  But the chocolate looks great!  Thanks to Audrey for this suggestion.

Located in Lakeside, NJ, Online ordering available.


Yummy Earth Organic Candies

They sell wholesale allergen-free and organic hard candies with names like "Roadside Rootbeer Barrells" and Pomegranate Pucker".  None specifically for Easter it seems, but they are in retail stores like Whole Foods, Baby's R Us and many Marriotts around the country. Thanks to for this suggestion.

In Grand Rapids, MI:  Harvest Health


Gimbal's Gourmet Candies

The gourmet jelly beans look great, and they make those and their other flavors without the Big 8 allergens.  We haven't tasted them yet, but we like their ingredients and their philosophy.  Their Honey Lover's flavors support a project that keeps the ever important honey-bee healthy, alive and pollinating.  Gimbal’s donates 5% of Honey Lovers proceeds to the University of California Davis Honey Bee Research.

Sold online through Candy Direct.

Fancy Pants Bakery (Nut-free only)

Though the cookies are NOT gluten or dairy free, they ARE nut free.  They also have adorable easter bunny shapes for a great alternative to candy. 

Sold online directly through


Jules Gluten-Free Easter Basket Cupcakes

Found this recipe through flour guru and gluten-free labeling activist, Jules Shepherd.  It contains several fun gluten-free candies as well.  The recipe looks fun and definitely worth a try!

Find the recipe here.


Who's Your Favorite Allergen-Free Candy Maker?

If you have a favorite candy maker with Easter treats - Give an E-jingle and let me know who they are!  I'm always looking for the folks who do it well.  The only rule:  they must produce their products in an allergen-free facility and test for at least one allergen (and must test for all allergens they are claiming to be free of).   Remember, "Vegan" does not mean "Dairy-free".  "Non-Dairy" also does not mean "Dairy-free".  And "traces of..." can be quite harmful for those who have food allergies.


This post does not constitute medical advice of any kind.  Please speak to your doctor and understand your own body and its food allergies.  Please read each product label carefully to be sure that it is safe for your or your child's unique situation.